top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMike Burnette

$#%!

There are about six words that are ever-present in the real world, but taboo within Christian culture. How do we, as Christian writers, tell good stories about the real world without these six words?


Is it OK for Christian writers to include profanity in their writing? If it's not gratuitous, but what the character in any given situation would say?


As a storyteller, profanity is helpful. It’s realistic and opens up a wider range of available emotion. As I edit my first novel and wade 100,000 words into my sequel to PSYCHONIX: SOULUTIONS, it occurred to me that characters need to be able to say what they say. It doesn't impugn my character and Scriptural belief, "Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen." Ephesians 4:29


I am merely penning reality in thought and experience. I am giving the reader eyes to see the world and the human experience. To enable her to deepen her thinking and ability to understand important issues. And last but not least, it is the medium through which God has revealed himself.


What are your thoughts?


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page